scroll down

Airport Authority

North Dakota Tourism

Airport Authority

Bowman County Courthouse
104 1st St NW, Suite 1
Bowman, ND 58623

Bowman County Airport Authority

Bowman County has a new, larger regional airport to support the state’s economic boom.  The new facility has a 5,700-foot runway. The extra runway length will enable a wider variety of aircraft types to utilize the facility.

The updated Bowman Airport helps provide infrastructure needs of airports in western North Dakota and aids as an economic engine for the entire region.



Airport Authority Minutes

December 28, 2020
7:00 PM

Members present     Bob Morland, Dave Helland, Rod Schaaf

Members absent      Terry Schaaf

Others present         Gary Brennan, Brosz Engineering & Brent Kline, Airport Mgr.


  1. President Rod Schaaf called the meeting to order.
  2. Minutes of previous meeting (November 23, 2020).  Bob moved to approve the minutes.  Dave seconded the motion.  Motion carried.
  3. Financial reports – Dave moved to approve the financial reports. Bob seconded the motion.  Motion carried.
  4. Brent reported on the progress of the repairs to electrical equipment due to the lightning strike last summer. The repairs are almost complete.  Brent will work with the insurance adjuster after completion.
  5. Gary Brennan reviewed the potential building project. There was discussion about budget and building size.  It was decided that Gary would get cost estimates for based on the desired sizes.  The board will meet with County Commissioners regarding possible funding or loans available.
  6. Gary presented a contract for design services of the new building. Brosz Engineering would bill us for sub-consultants bills but hold their billing until grant approval.  Bob moved to approve the contract.  Dave seconded the motion.  Motion carried.
  7. The next meeting is scheduled for January 25, 2021 .

Airport Authority Meeting

Bowman County Airport Authority meets every fourth Monday at the Bowman County Regional Airport beginning at 7:00 PM. See the Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

Airport Authority Membership

Rodney Schaaf Chairman
Bob Morland Secretary/Treasurer
Eugene Miller Member
Andy Mrnak Member
John Soreide Member